fenblogging

one interesting life and adventure with my hubby

Almost a year old.

on February 26, 2015

a simultaneously exciting and depressing thought is constantly in my mind these days. My beloved son, my little man, will be one in two weeks. I am excited and scared, all at the same time.

There are so many things I wanted to do, but haven’t, because of laziness, money, and time obligations getting in the way. Now that we are about to move, I feel even more as though there were things I should have done, could have, and did not. 

I did not get the pictures of his first year as I had wanted. Maybe the second child will be different. I didn’t get all those first holidays, month by month pictures like I wanted, as well as the little keepsakes (aside from the first hair cut), but he is alive and thriving. 

Today was one of his last physical therapy appointments, and seeing him move around so easily, from where he was trying to crawl, to now trying to run, is an amazing thing, and his neck condition is much improved. Before we went, I tried to do some pictures from the Valentine’s Day stuff, and I know I am no photographer. He also would not look at me or sit still like I had hoped. This evening? Perfect. Of course. Maybe tomorrow will be better.

Friday he is going to have his cake smash pictures done, and one year pictures so I can send them out as cards for friends and family. He has his birthday party coming up, and I am very excited about that. I finally figured out a theme, and it has been pretty fun putting it all together. I am hoping to do it at a park, so the older kids can play and not destroy my house. We will be packing to move soon, and I do not want to have any more worries if I can help it.

Today we went to hobby lobby to look for stuff for his birthday shoot, and I got some wooden letters that spell one, and his name, and I also found the most amazing peep basket, and he has been playing with that this evening, excitedly carrying it around and the stuffed peeps I made.

Unlike last year, I am really hoping to be able to do more with him, and decorate and have fun, where last year was a struggle for me, between the healing and depression. I really hope to not have another c-section with the next baby. That is my big hope and dream.

Last weekend we went to a different zoo, and he laughed diabolically at the gators eating pelleted food we threw down for them to eat. He also enjoyed some Italian food after, and the three of us passed out early. My mom and dad celebrated their wedding anniversary with us, and we’re excited to share it with the little man.

I am going to be peep planning, because I may just develop a taste for them after all the fun we have. I am hoping to sew more peeps this year, and have a cute collection of them.

P.s. Insanity is a grueling workout, but I am a lot stronger than when I started out, and I hope to lose more weight and be healthier soon. I am trying  so hard to model a healthier life for our son, so we can at least earn our confections of sugary deliciousness.

Leave a Reply

