fenblogging

one interesting life and adventure with my hubby

An update on my carriers, and other sewing ideas

on June 25, 2014

Sew, a few months ago, I made those Mei Tai baby carriers, and I know use them almost daily. I keep one rolled up in the car, and the other at home. I have found that they are working out extremely well, and even with constant checks and an ever growing boy, they are still in excellent condition. I may try adding buckles or d-rings to see if that helps with adjusting them, but I am pretty sure little man will be in a big boy stroller soon.
I will have to make something to fix his torticollis induced slumping though, and I have found a few different ideas to toss around from pinterest. I have enough fabric, thread, and polyfill to make a few different ones to see what works. I also need to devise a way to keep the support from falling out of place as I put him in his car seat and rocker, though he will probably outgrow the rocker before too much longer. I may have to place a pool noodle under his crib mattress and prop him up that way or something. Let’s here it for crafty moms!!
This afternoon and evening, little man and I finished what shopping we were going to do on this trip, and I returned a double set of long johns I had purchased to Babys r us, and got enough money to buy him a slew of clothes, in sizes he doesn’t fit in yet. YET. They didn’t have any clothes that would fit him there, so off we went. Since there are a million Ross stores around here, I went to one near my sister’s old work, and I found him some 18 month clothes, one a set with onesies and pants, and the other a pair of long johns, with the snaps running down the bottom. We also went to Carters and used the 10 dollar coupon, and I ended up paying 42 cents for 2 more rompers, size 12 months. Little man has been really good about sleeping in his carrier today, so I nipped into Old Navy next door, and they were also having a clearance sale. I found some 12-18 month long johns on clearance, and the tag said six, but they were three dollars each. I just might have to hunt and dig for a few more tomorrow. Once upon a child charges more than that for clothes, so I feel I am getting a better deal. Now, I also have some different size clothes to make patterns for the clothes for little man.
Little man has been talking more and more now, and today he has been sticking his cute little tongue out. I was helping him roll over earlier, so it seems less scary for him, and he definitely does not care for tummy time or being on his mat much. He is trying to crawl, and has been scooting himself sideways, so he goes a quarter of a circle around. He is growing up so fast.
Last night was pretty rough, with Dolly the destroyer of worlds crying and barking all night for no reason (she was let out, in, watered, already fed, etc), and she would wake up me and little man in the process. Then, this morning, she popped her collar off, where she was secured by a chain, and got out again. I got to scramble to dress myself to answer the door, where one of the best neighbors had caught her. Sometimes I miss my old neighbors.
I tried to work on my schoolwork today, but I don’t have the ability to get Microsoft office through the school, so I will have to type everything up on hubby’s computer, which does have it. I will end up doing my word documents either at night, or when he is at work, so we aren’t scrambling and getting in each others way.
I probably wont have time in the morning, but I may go and mop the floors and wash down my parent’s bathroom shower before I go get hubby. We will come back down to see my parents, but there are stores he wants to see and all, and I miss him. My parents are a little bummed I wont stay another night, but I dont want to sleep on the couch or the granite slab my dad calls a guest bed.

Leave a Reply

